Daytrotter Names "Drinkin' To Forget" One of Their Top 300 Songs of 2013 Podcast

The Dock Ellis Band on Daytrotter's Top 300 Songs of 2013

In September 2013, The DEB stopped into Daytrotter Studios in Rock Island, IL. It was a gorgeous day in Northern Illinois with beautiful blue skies the color of a dying man's face. Crack engineer, Mike Gentry flipped the switch on his two track tape machine and let us dick around for a while. Then he made it sound like a real record.

Then to add whatever the opposite of insult is to whatever the opposite of injury is, Daytrotter went and named "Drinkin' To Forget" as one of their Top 300 Songs of 2013. That's out of over 1,200 bands and almost 5,000 songs, folks!

Thanks to Mike Gentry, Sean Moeller, Johnnie Cluney and everyone else at Daytrotter for the appreciation and for letting us play.

Check out The Dock Ellis Band's entire Daytrotter session


Bad Songs and Waltzes

by The Dock Ellis Band

The Dock Ellis Band sounds like a honky tonk jukebox...back when dimes were actually made of silver.

However, there are two sides to every coin. Half of the material is true, classic country from tear jerking ballads to wistful waltzes, drifting cowboy songs to raucous, stomping outlaw tunes.Then there's the underside of the coin. It's a dark, humorous side that some have even described as, "subversive".

Humor has always been an important element in country music even before Jimmie Rodgers recorded "Pistol Packin' Papa" in 1930 with the lyrics, "Now girls, I'm just a good guy, and I'm going to have my fun, and if you don't wanna smell my smoke, don't monkey with my gun!" Well The DEB has songs about guns; not to mention songs about bass players born in dumpsters, gamblers with missing thumbs, drunk pregnant women and a man so desperate for affection, he's pleading to be kidnapped and molested.

That and more is in store for you if you download The Dock Ellis Band's first full-length studio album, "Bad Songs and Waltzes."

Recorded at, Native Sound, Saint Louis, Missouri, March 2013

Engineered by: David Beeman Produced by: David Beeman and The Dock Ellis Band Mastered by: Blue Jade Audio Mastering,Saint Louis, Missouri Album Art by: Jeff Robtoy w/ technical assistance from Mike Hansen

The Dock Ellis Band are:

Jesse Irwin: electric guitar, vocal Justin Brown: electric and acoustic guitar, vocal Tim Sullivan: piano, tack piano and Wurlitzer Adam Dick: Precision Bass Guitar Ryan Adams: drums David Anderson: (special guest) pedal steel guitar

  1. 1 $0.99 Drinkin' to Forget 03:24
  2. 2 $0.99 Somebody Put Something in My Drink...Please 03:28
  3. 3 $0.99 Tears Come Easy 04:05
  4. 4 $0.99 Drinkin' Tonight 02:58
  5. 5 $0.99 The Breeze 03:14
  6. 6 $0.99 Monday Morning Miracle: The Ballad of Adam Dick (The Dumpster Baby Song) 05:32
  7. 7 $0.99 Me & Tim Sullivan 02:24
  8. 8 $0.99 Miles and Miles 03:33
  9. 9 $0.99 Drinkin' For Two 02:57
  10. 10 $0.99 The Last Loser 04:36
  11. 11 $0.99 Winchester Rifle 03:32
  12. 12 $0.99 Crystal Meth 03:38
here's what the critics have to say:

The Dock Ellis Band serves it up straight - like an oversized shot of rail whiskey; no chaser.      -Riverfront Times

The Dock Ellis Band is f*cking hilarious. Singer Jesse Irwin has the perfect country rock persona. He's a beer drinkin', whisky shootin',  howlin', cheatin' dirty, man. He's backed by a really solid band that started the set by ordering 10 beers. Don't miss out on a chance to see this band!      -Nick Speiser, KWUR Radio
Justin Brown

The Dock Ellis Band
4022 Oleatha Ave
St. Louis, MO 63116-3606